En Concert… American Idol’s Lee DeWyze Performs in Lake Orion, Michigan

Lee DeWyze, 12/28/19

As the decade came to a close, Andrew and I decided to stop in Lake Orion, Michigan for the night while we were en route to Cincinnati to visit my family for the holidays. This overnight stop was, of course, owing to American Idol champion Lee DeWyze performing a show at the 20 Front Street venue. While I’m no stranger to seeing DeWyze in concert, it was nice to see him at a different venue than I usually do.

With no opening act and an early 8:00 start time, the 19-song set list lasted just over an hour and featured DeWyze doing what he does best. His acoustic showcase let his raspy voice and songwriting shine, as he performed songs dating back to his pre-Idol sophomore album Slumberland up to his current EP release, Castles. Amongst the setlist were some staples of his show – namely Blackbird Song, which was played on The Walking Dead, and Hallelujah, his Leonard Cohen / Jeff Buckley cover that provided one of his stand-out moments on Idol – as well as the title tracks from Oil & WaterParanoia, and all three tracks from the aforementioned Castles EP that has been out for a couple months now.

During the show, DeWyze dropped news that he was currently working on a new full-length album, with his targeted release date sometime in May or June. Check out the set list and some of my favourite photos from the show below.


  1. Breathing In (Frames)
  2. West (Oil & Water)
  3. Blackbird Song (from The Walking Dead)
  4. So What Now (Slumberland)
  5. Night and Day (Castles)
  6. Safe (Oil & Water)
  7. Stone (Oil & Water)
  8. Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen cover)
  9. Paranoia (Paranoia)
  10. I Will Follow You Into the Dark (Death Cab for Cutie cover)
  11. Castles (Castle)
  12. Weight (single)
  13. Oil & Water (Oil & Water)
  14. Sink or Swim (Paranoia)
  15. Let Go (Paranoia)
  16. Learn to Fall (Oil & Water)
  17. Oh My God (unreleased)
  18. We Were Alive (Castles)
  19. Only Dreaming (Live It Up)

You may also like