American Idol’s Lee DeWyze Performs in South Burlington, Vermont

Ahead of the release of his newest EP Castles, American Idol’s season nine champion Lee DeWyze found himself performing for the first time at the Higher Ground music venue in South Burlington, Vermont – just a few minutes outside of the University of Vermont. It was my first trip to Vermont, and the quaint college city was a nice backdrop for a last-minute trip to see my favourite singers – one that I didn’t expect to make mere two days after getting my wisdom teeth pulled.

The sixteen-song set list began with a performance of Breathing In, off of his album Frames. From there, he launched into a performance of So What Now from his pre-Idol album Slumberland after talking about how it’s one of his only songs from back then (he wrote it when he was sixteen) he feels still holds up. After that was a mix of songs from Oil & Water and Paranoia, as well as the three songs from the aforementioned Castles. Also included in the mix were his single-only releases of Blackbird Song and Weight, as well as cover of Death Cab for Cutie’s I Will Follow You Into the Dark. Though he intended to stop after finishing with We Were Alive, audience demand necessitated a last-minute perform of Hallelujah – a song he performed during his run on American Idol that’s become a staple of his shows since.

The full set list for DeWyze’s show was as follows:

  1. 1.Breathing In (Frames)
  2. 2.So What Now (Slumberland)
  3. 3.Blackbird Song (from The Walking Dead)
  4. 4.Night and Day (Castles)
  5. 5.Stone (Oil & Water)
  6. 6.Same for You (Oil & Water)
  7. 7.Learn to Fall (Oil & Water)
  8. 8.Weight (single only release)
  9. 9.I Will Follow You Into the Dark (Death Cab for Cutie cover)
  10. 10.Sink or Swim (Paranoia)
  11. 11.Castles (Castles)
  12. 12.Oil & Water (Oil & Water)
  13. 13.West (Oil & Water)
  14. 14.Paranoia (Paranoia)
  15. 15.We Were Alive (Castles)
  16. 16.Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen cover)

You may also like